View all Dogs for Adoption

Dove D211216

Hound (short coat) / Female / Senior

Details about Dove D211216

  • ID D211216
  • Available for Adoption
  • Dog
  • Tan
  • Coatlength: Short
  • Activity Level: Moderate
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

More about Dove D211216

  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only

Name: Dove
Age: DOB Approx. 09/16/11
Gender: Female
Breed: Hound x
Weight: 47
Dog friendly: Yes
Cat friendly: TBD
Kid friendly: Yes
House Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Doesn't need to be
Energy level: Moderate
History: Pulled from an animal control 
Adoption Fee: $350

 

From the Foster:

 

Dove  is the cutest little thing you will ever meet and a VERY easy dog. She's an older dog who is pretty quiet and mellow while at home.  She's fine with kids, all adults, but I haven't seen her with cats. I can't imagine it would be an issue. She's very independent and does not need a lot of attention nor does she want to give a lot of affection. If you're looking for a cuddly, in your face, snuggle-at-night dog, this is not the dog for you. She will come up and put her head against your knees and let you pet her head and massage her neck which she really likes. I think she's just kind of getting used to this whole idea that humans will dote on you if you let them....If you're looking for a low key, very easy maintenance, sweet as can be dog who is moving towards her golden years, then this is your dog. Despite her mellowness at home, she LOVES to go outside and is quite active on the leash. She will stand and stare at the door waiting for it to magically open or will even bark to let you know she wants out. In the morning she does a little doggy dance with excitement to let you know she wants to go out and she does the same in the evening. A yard with a fence would be nice given that she loves to go outside so much but a couple of good walks a day will also do. She has never had an accident in the house so I've never had to crate her. She tends to find a spot she likes and to sleep and nap in that spot most of the day until she's ready for a walk or her evening meal. Oh, she is also a little deaf but she has responded well to some physical cues I give her and she has come to recognize her name when I call after a few weeks of working on that. She is a little love bug and I hope the right family will come along and take care of this little gem. 

Through the course of my veterinary care at Secondhand Hounds it was discovered that I have renal proteinuria (protein loss through the kidneys.) This is typically secondary to glomerulonephritis, which is a type of kidney disease characterized by inflammation. My veterinarians started me on a medication and specialty diet, and I am doing very well now! Future adopters should continue my medication and prescription kidney diet, and follow up with their primary veterinarian to continue to monitor. I am also on an eye ointment for chronic dry eye in my right eye, and my veterinarians recommend yearly dentals with dental x-rays due to generalized root resorption, which was noted during my dental surgery/cleaning.