View all Dogs for Adoption

Fifi D211176

Chihuahua (short coat) / Female / Senior

Details about Fifi D211176

  • ID D211176
  • Available for Adoption
  • Dog
  • Gray/Silver/Salt & Pepper with White
  • Coatlength: Short
  • Activity Level: Moderate
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

More about Fifi D211176

  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only

Name: Fifi
Age: 10 years
Gender: Female
Breed: Chihuahua
Weight: 14 lbs
Dog friendly: Yes
Cat friendly: Unknown
Kid friendly: No
House Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: No
Energy level: Moderate
History: From a shelter in Texas
Adoption Fee: $300

 

From the Foster:

Fifi is a total love bug. She requires someone who will give her nonstop belly rubs and allow her to cuddle up next to them at night. When not next to you, she loves laying on the back of the couch, looking out the window.

Even though she loves human company, she is fine left alone with her canine friends, and shows no anxiety.

Fostering her has been so easy, whoever gets her will be very lucky. She adapted immediately to the resident dogs and loves wandering in the yard with them. You can tell she has been loved in the past.

I have put a potty pad out for her at night but she has only used it once, otherwise she is good to go until morning. I have never tried kenneling her, she has free run and has not given me a single issue.

As sweet as she is, she does NOT like small children, so no kids.

Through the course of my veterinary care at Secondhand Hounds, it was discovered that I have a grade II systolic sided murmur on both the left and right side of my heart. Chest x-rays reviewed by a radiologist showed that there may be a mild enlargement of my heart, however it appears as though this may be exaggerated due to my narrow/shallow chest space. Everything else appears normal, and my veterinarians determined that no further treatment is needed at this time, and it is safe for me to undergo anesthesia. Future adopters should be aware of my heart murmur and continue to monitor it with their veterinarian. 
It was also found that I have grade 3/4 luxating patellas in my knees, and will need 2 orthopedic surgeries completed by a specialist at the SHH Vet Center. I also have a dental surgery scheduled for the end of September.

The recovery for my knee surgeries requires some restricted activity and at-home physical therapy for 12 weeks *per surgery* so I'm going to need an adopter aware of this who is able to help me through my rest period so I can get settled in my forever home sooner. The estimated amount of time with surgery and recovery is 6+ months for both procedures.

I will be adopted with an FTA (foster to adopt) contract so my adoption can take place, while SHH still manages the financial responsibility of my orthopedic surgery. Any other medical care needed outside of these surgeries covered by the FTA contract would be the responsibility of my new family.