View all Dogs for Adoption

Tori D211161

German Shepherd Dog (medium coat) / Female / Young

Details about Tori D211161

  • ID D211161
  • Available for Adoption
  • Dog
  • Tan/Yellow/Fawn with Black
  • Coatlength: Medium
  • Activity Level: Moderate
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

More about Tori D211161

  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only

Name: Tori
Age: DOB Approx. 08/25/2018
Gender: Female
Breed: German Shepherd
Weight: 60
Dog friendly: Yes, does best with a dog friend
Cat friendly: TBD
Kid friendly: Yes
House Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Energy level: Moderate
History: Breeder Release
Adoption Fee: $600

 

From the Foster:

Tori is such a sweet girl, our household has been so lucky to foster her! She is incredibly smart and eager to please--she is treat motivated (specifically hot dogs and american cheese). She's an absolute gorgeous dog that will be an amazing addition to a particular family.

Tori had a tough life before coming here; she was used as a breeding dog and therefore treated as a money-maker rather than the amazing dog that she is. So she is still learning how to "dog," but she takes cues from my resident dog and has opened up so much. (I even saw a tail wag when she though I wasn't looking.)

Since she is so smart and learns quickly, crate training and potty training has been relatively easy. Her crate is her "safe space" and she rarely has accidents in the house anymore. (Remember, she lived in an outdoor cage most of her life so she had no idea what this whole "potty training" thing was). She is learning what a leash is and that it can be a good thing that leads to hot dogs, but her new family will have to continue to work with her because she's never even had a collar before!

Tori is trusting me more and more every day, and it is so rewarding to see her come out of her scared shell to feel comfortable enough to relax outside with me or follow me around the house. She even now gives (cautious) kisses! :)

Tori has some anti-anxiety meds for when she gets a little too worked about about a new experience (welcome to the club, sister) but takes them with cheese without issue. Since she has not quite figured out the leash and walkies yet, a fenced-in yard would be beneficial but not required. Regarding shared walls--she IS a typical GSD... if she hears something suspicious in the middle of the night, she will let you know!