View all Dogs for Adoption

Gravy D211144

Chihuahua (short coat) / Male / Adult

Details about Gravy D211144

  • ID D211144
  • Available for Adoption
  • Dog
  • Tan/Yellow/Fawn with White
  • Coatlength: Short
  • Activity Level: Moderate
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Reaction to New People: Cautious

More about Gravy D211144

  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only

Name: Gravy
Age: 6 years
Gender: Male
Breed: Chihuahua
Weight: 9 lbs
Dog friendly: Yes, calm considerate dogs only
Cat friendly: Yes
Kid friendly: Unknown, older considerate children only
House Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: No
Energy level: Moderate
History: Breeder release from South Dakota
Adoption Fee: $400

 

From the Foster:

Gravy is the sweetest Chihuahua you will ever meet, and also the kissiest once he gets to know you. He loves cuddling next to his foster mom in bed and trying to steal clean laundry when she's putting it away. He is fine with the resident dog, cats, and even the rabbit! As we have fostered him for more time, he has started showing some fear of men inside and outside of the home.

Gravy was rescued from life as a breeder dog, and would really benefit from an adopter experienced with this, or at least someone willing to put in long-term work on his breeder dog quirks and anxieties. Being introduced to new people and animals can make him shut down or shake so slow intros are a must. No loud/high energy dogs at home please. He has not been around children, and would do best without small children in the home. He will not go on walks outside his backyard, so an adopter would need to have a yard, preferably fenced in. He is house trained to 3 potty breaks a day and needs the same routine. He is not one for the outdoors, especially the wet, cold or dark. He prefers to go inside right after pottying. If you are not one for long walks, he is the dog for you. He is currently awaiting surgery on one leg and possibly a second, but can be fostered-to-adopt during that time and SHH would cover the surgery expenses.

Hello! I'm pending some medical care but still available for adoption. I have a grade 3/4 luxating patella and will need an orthopedic surgery completed by a specialist at the SHH Vet Center. The recovery requires some restricted activity and at-home physical therapy for 12 weeks so I'm going to need an  adopter aware of this who is able to help me through the recovery so I can get settled in my forever home sooner! 

I will be adopted with a FTA (foster to adopt) contract so my adoption can take place, while SHH still manages the financial responsibility of my orthopedic surgery. Any other medical care needed outside of this surgery and recovery would be the responsibility of my new family.