View all Dogs for Adoption

Nellie D211004

Labrador Retriever (medium coat) / Female / Adult

Details about Nellie D211004

  • ID D211004
  • Available for Adoption
  • Dog
  • Black
  • Coatlength: Medium
  • Activity Level: Moderate
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

More about Nellie D211004

  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only

Name: Nellie
Age: DOB Approx. 07/28/18
Gender: Female
Breed: Lab 
Weight: 70
Dog friendly: Yes
Cat friendly: Yes
Kid friendly: Yes
House Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Energy level: Moderate
History: Pulled from an animal control 
Adoption Fee: $500

 

From the Foster:

The exciting stuff:

Nellie is a total lover.  She is obsessed with her humans, loves to snuggle, and aims to please.  She is good with adults and children alike. She is funny, excited about everything, and has a beautiful soul.  She likes dogs but needs some time to adjust, and she is good with cats as well.  She is potty trained on a schedule and goes into her crate willingly with treats.  Nellie is both treat and praise motivated.  She LOVES to go on walks and run and play fetch and just be outside.  She sleeps through the night in my bedroom with no problems at all.

 

Things we are working on:

Nellie definitely has some anxiety and if she was a human, would likely be diagnosed with ADHD.  Anything new makes her nervous.  She also has some leash reactivity and will need consistent training in that domain.  While she likes most new dogs, her reactions can seem big and scary.  She will require slow introductions to new animals in order to be successful.  When we go to the dog park and a new dog comes in, I have to hang on to her for a few minutes until she calms down and then she is ready to play.  She struggles in busy busy situations where there are more than 4 or 5 dogs there.  Whomever adopts Nellie, I HIGHLY suggest investing in an alcatraz crate.  She has Houdinied her way out of two different style crates and will attempt to escape bedrooms as well.  She will bark and dogs passing by (which will hopefully improve as training continues) so at this time, I would say no shared walls for this beauty.

 

The bottom line:

Nellie needs a home that is calm, patient, caring, loving, and active.  We do at minimum three miles a day plus some good off leash play time for her to really run as well.  Maybe a family who is really into running and or camping and hiking??  Nellie needs a home that will invest in her training in order to help her be the best dog she can be.  While she is guessed to be around 3 years old, she still behaves more like she is about 9 months or so :)  She really is a beautiful dog with a beautiful soul who wants nothing but to love you and in order to best do that, she needs someone who is going to help her through her anxieties.