View all Dogs for Adoption

Chester *Hearing Impaired/Special Needs* D210370

Pomeranian (long coat) / Male / Senior

Details about Chester *Hearing Impaired/Special Needs* D210370

  • ID D210370
  • Available for Adoption
  • Dog
  • Fawn
  • Coatlength: Long
  • Activity Level: Moderate
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

More about Chester *Hearing Impaired/Special Needs* D210370

  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Yard Required: Yes
  • Fence: Any Type
  • Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only

Name: Chester
Age: 12 years
Gender: Male
Breed: Pomeranian
Weight: 10 lbs
Dog friendly: Yes
Cat friendly: TBD
Kid friendly: Yes
House Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Unknown, does great not crated!
Energy level: Moderate
History: From a shelter in Kentucky
Adoption Fee: $200

 

From the Foster: 

Chester (aka Chessie and fondly Chesapeake) is a fantastic guy. You can call him whatever you want as he is hard of hearing and will never know. He loves to be near you but not on top of you. As he is hearing impaired, he sometimes positions himself where he knows you will walk when you get up or leave a room. He is affectionate yet independent. He is most demanding when he wants to get out for a walk - as in, he wiggles then waits by the door. He is unbothered by our chihuahua and shows no aggression, need to be territorial but also isn’t submissive. He is content and happy to not engage. His health requires regular medications and he is great at taking them with a little peanut butter. He would do well in any home but he sure would be a fit for someone who would like a low need companion and can give an older guy some love in his last years.

During my free time I like to spend my time enjoying the simple pleasures of life: hanging around my foster family, sleeping, going on walks, and of course peanut butter. I’m fully potty trained and haven’t had any accidents with my foster family! My ideal family would be someone who enjoys my company as I take a nap near by, someone who is around to give me my medications, and someone who can give me lots of belly rubs :) I’m an adorable ball of mellow love, friendly disposition, and I mean how could you say no to all this fluff. So excited to meet  my new fur-ever family! -Chester

Through the course of my veterinary care at Secondhand Hounds, I was diagnosed with congestive heart failure and kidney disease. I am currently well-controlled on my medications, but it is important that future adopters establish a relationship with their primary veterinarian, as an exam, chest x-rays, and labwork (urinalysis and bloodwork) are recommended every 3 months, and an echocardiogram every 6-9 months to monitor the progression of my disease. 

Recommended every 3 months:

-Medical exam: $68.25
-Chest x-rays: $180
 
Echocardiogram with cardiologist (recommended every 6mo-1 year): $750
 
Bloodwork and a urinalysis is done every 3 months- $200
 
Cost of medications (30 day supply)
-Cough tablets: $15
-Furosemide: $15
-Enalapril: $14
-Vetmedin Chews: $56
-Spironolactone: $12.25