View all Dogs for Adoption

Samantha D210270

German Shepherd Dog (medium coat) / Female / Senior

Details about Samantha D210270

  • ID D210270
  • Available for Adoption
  • Dog
  • Tricolor (Tan/Brown & Black & White)
  • Coatlength: Medium
  • Activity Level: Moderate
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Reaction to New People: Cautious

More about Samantha D210270

  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only

Name: Samantha
Age: DOB approx. 02/12/12
Gender: Female
Breed: Shepherd x
Weight: 63
Dog friendly: Yes with intros 
Cat friendly: Yes
Kid friendly: 16+ 
House Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: TBD
Energy level: Moderate
History: Pulled from an animal control 
Adoption Fee: $350

 

From the Foster:

Samantha (or Sammi as we call her) came to us after a lot of change in her life and took a bit to settle in and let us see the real Sammi! She absolutely loves walks; if she senses you are getting ready for one she does hops around and is so excited! Sammi could use more work on loose leash walking as she is pretty strong and pulls, especially at first, but once settled in she is just in her own world and nothing seems to bother or startle her.  Although she isn't a big fan of kids in her own space, on a walk she has zero reaction to walking by a busy playground or seeing children at play.  Other things Sammi loves is hanging out near you - She seems to bond to one person in the house, typically a female, and is a bit of a shadow but not too demanding; she will lay in the same room, cuddle if you let her or will play with toys if she is in the mood. She likes treats but has very good house manners as she doesn't beg for food!
 
If you work from home she will hang out quietly all day, snooze, play with toys or watch the world go by out the window. She would be fine if her people are at the office for the day but would love a nice walk when you get home!  Sammi currently lives with two dogs, she would do fine as an only dog or with doggy siblings if they respected her space and were slowly introduced.  She does best with slow introductions to dogs, typically taking them on a walk together is a good first step. She does have an interest in playing but it takes a bit for her to warm up.
 
Sammi deserves the best and would be happiest in a home without children as she seems to be nervous with them around.  She would be fine with shared walls as long as some doggy noises are tolerated, and would do fine with or without a fence as long as walks are offered in either situation as she enjoys them so much!

Through the course of my care at Secondhand Hounds I had a non-cancerous mammary mass removed. Future adopters should monitor for development of additional mammary masses and follow up with their primary veterinarian. I am also on a prescription kidney diet and medication for proteinuria (increased levels of protein in the urine.) It is recommended that adopters continue to recheck her bloodwork, blood pressures, and urine approximately every 4-6 months as needed, pending her continued response to therapy.