View all Dogs for Adoption

Popps D210235

Australian Cattle Dog/Blue Heeler (short coat) / Male / Adult

Details about Popps D210235

  • ID D210235
  • Available for Adoption
  • Dog
  • Tricolor (Tan/Brown & Black & White)
  • Coatlength: Short
  • Activity Level: Moderate
  • Good with Cats: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

More about Popps D210235

  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only

Name: Popps
Age: 7 years
Gender: Male
Breed: Australian Cattle Dog
Weight: 37 lbs
Dog friendly:  Yes, see bio for additional info.
Cat friendly:  Yes, his foster family has 3 cats. But your home should have only dog savvy cats who won't run from him. 
Kid friendly:  Older considerate children only
House Trained: Yes, but because of his diabetes insipidus he does need to go out more often.
Crate Trained:  Yes. Popps is crated at night. He will actually run for his crate when it is bedtime.
Energy level: Moderate
History: From a shelter in Kentucky
Adoption Fee: $300

 

From the Foster:

If you like long morning walks and cuddle time on the couch in the evening then Popps is the dog for you! He is super smart and very treat driven so he knows all kinds of tricks. He has been good with all the people he has met from 1 years old to 80, although he is not much interested in playing with anyone. He does bark when he sees other dogs walk by the house so I would recommend no shared inside walls. He is great on leash but does have a tendency to react to other dogs. With slow introductions he is ok with other dogs. Popps is very sweet. He really just wants to be near his people and stare adoringly at them. He loves having his ears rubbed or his belly scratched and will sigh contentedly. Because of his diabetes insipidus his water intake needs to be restricted and he will require medication twice a day. This form of diabetes does not require insulin, but a drug called desmopressin in eyedrop form. Popp's does great when it's time for his eyedrops. It also means he needs to urinate more often. He would make a great companion for someone who is home during the day. 

Throughout the course of my veterinary care at Secondhand Hounds, it was found that I suffer from excessive thirst and urination. My foster and the doctors at the SHH Vet Center worked very hard to determine what could be causing this, and it is suspected that I have central diabetes insipidus. Thankfully, they found a medication that works for me! I am doing well now, although I do need to go outside a little more than the average dog. I also have some allergies that are well-controlled on medication, as well as a mast-cell tumor that was narrowly excised. It is recommended that potential adopters establish a relationship with their primary veterinarian to continue to monitor my condition and medications.