View all Dogs for Adoption

Rooster D210192

American Pit Bull Terrier (short coat) / Male / Adult

Details about Rooster D210192

  • ID D210192
  • Available for Adoption
  • Dog
  • Black
  • Coatlength: Short
  • Activity Level: Moderate
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

More about Rooster D210192

  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only

Name: Rooster
Age: DOB Approx. 02/03/17
Gender: Male
Breed: Pitty x 
Weight: 50
Dog friendly: Yes
Cat friendly: Yes
Kid friendly: Yes, older due to exuberance 
House Trained: 95%
Crate Trained: Working on it! 
Energy level: Moderate to High
History: Pulled from an animal control  
Adoption Fee: $500

 

From the Foster:

Hi, I’m Rooster the one eyed wonder!

I am a very happy boy who is super excited to start my new life.  I only have one working eye but this does not bother me at all.  I might bump into some things on my bad side but mostly I give adorable head tilts when I want to focus on something.  I love humans a lot and want to be with my foster humans all the time.  I cry when they leave the house and get super excited when they return.  I have two foster dog siblings who I like to cuddle and play with.  I am very happy to meet other dogs.  I would say that I love humans and like dogs in that order.  I also live with two cats who I want to play with.  If I chase them or get in their face they will swat at me and I will back away and leave them alone. 

I am working on being crate trained but I do bark and cry when first put in the crate so no shared walls for me.  I have learned that I get crated at night and usually don’t cry anymore.  I might wine a little but I am getting better at realizing its time for bed and I’m not missing anything.  My fosters are not sure what I would do if left outside a crate when they leave but I rarely chew on anything that isn’t a toy so I might be better behaved if not crated.  I have tried to take my foster dad’s slipper when he was not wearing it but I dropped it when he told me to.  They aren’t sure if I would try to chew on it or simply wanted to cuddle it. 

I get nervous when I leave the house and my fosters think I have not been walked often before.  With a slow patient walker I am getting better and learning it’s fun to explore.  I do get afraid when a car drives past me but mostly I try to hide behind my foster.  Luckily I do not pull on walks so with some patience I should be a good walker.  I am a bit nervous meeting people outside of the house but if someone comes over to the house I am very excited and do not show any nerves. 

I love people so much that I can be a bit jumpy when meeting someone new or when my fosters come into the room.  I am working on learning that jumping does not get me any attention and since I love pets I should learn quickly that jumping means no pets.  Along with jumping I have a lot of puppy type energy for someone my age.  I am just so excited to be in a house with humans and fur friends.  With my bad eye and puppy energy I might not be good with baby and toddler humans as I could knock them over without meaning to. I am not very big so any small human who is a little older should be fine. 

I am mostly potty trained. I have only had one full pee accident and a few times I might have marked.  I have just been neutered and still like to mark the yard a lot and I might even mark inside the house but this is rare and it’s hard to tell if it’s my foster brother or me doing it.    

My fosters are not sure what breed I am but the Pitbull in me comes out in my complete lack of personal space and I try to climb on top of my fosters and become one with them.  I am just so happy to be in a house that I want to show them how much I care about them.  I love to cuddle on the couch. 

I have recently mastered going up and down flights of stairs.  I had not used them much before but I was quick to learn once motivated to follow my foster siblings.  Speaking of exploring, my fosters guess that I was a farm dog as I get antsy and want to wander the house and outside at my own pace.  I do not seem to have any formal obedience training but I am very treat motivated so I should be easily trained.  I am also very interested in human food and will beg while my fosters are making dinner.  So far I have not tried to grab anything from the counter but if unsupervised I might try.