View all Dogs for Adoption

Jesse James D201915

Labrador Retriever / Mixed (short coat) / Male / Young

Details about Jesse James D201915

  • ID D201915
  • Available for Adoption
  • Dog
  • Black
  • Coatlength: Short
  • Activity Level: Moderate
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

More about Jesse James D201915

  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only

Name: Jesse James
Age: ~8 months on 12/18/2020
Gender: Male
Breed: Lab mix
Weight: 59 lbs
Dog friendly: Yes
Cat friendly: Unknown
Kid friendly: Older (12+) considerate children only,  Requires older children due to size (knocking them over) and being a mouthy puppy needing redirection.
House Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: In progress
Energy level: Puppy!
History: From a reservation in South Dakota
Adoption Fee: $500

 

From the Foster:

Jesse James is very sweet and is learning all the goodness of being in a house and how to be a dog. He came from a reservation and is learning lots of new things currently. He is learning to fetch sticks and his toys, what he can and can't chew on, what a leash and harness are, and how to do stairs. Currently he needs treats to coax him up and down the stairs (4 steps) in and out of the house and is too frightened to do a full flight of stairs. (Trust me, we have tried and tried.) He gets part of his food in a Kong when we leave to redirect a little nervousness and that seems to help. He has moderate energy. He needs a good run, walk, or other puppy play time each day. He is very mouthy when he is excited or sleepy and he mostly goes for faces, hands and feet. He isn't mean or aggressive, just mouthy and needs redirected, but he is a large puppy and it can hurt. I think his name should have been "Pancake". When you want him to do something he isn't interested in, he just pancakes himself on the ground melting to the floor and is dead weight. He is unsure about getting in cars but does well once he is in. However, often we have to pick him up to get him in the car and use really yummy treats. We have been taking him to places he likes to try to teach him the car is good. He likes to be in the same room as us. About 50% of the time he is touching us and 50% of the time he is in his dog bed, on the floor, or on the couch. He is learning he shouldn't counter surf, eat shoes and other items and thus we keep everything put away. He sleeps in his dog bed at night in the living room since he won't do a flight of stairs. We haven't had any issues leaving him out but everything is cleaned up to make sure he stays successful. If anything is out, he will get into it. We have left him for up to 6 hours during the day and everything has been fine. He has had some accidents in the house but those are mostly at night when we are playing. He seems to need to pee every few hours if we are playing a lot. He likes to go for walks and pulls when he is excited but he does pretty well on a leash. He will bark at dogs passing outside our house because he wants to play and we've been working on redirecting him by calling him to us and distracting him. We are working towards him wanting to go in his crate by feeding him in there with the door open but he isn't very interested in it any other time. He is a big, goofy puppy and he can knock people over by jumping. He jumps especially when excited and is definitely mouthy. He is sweet. He likes butt rubs and will sit on your feet then flop over on the floor for a belly rub. He loves playing with our neighbor's puppy, going to the dog store for a treat, taking walks, looking out the windows, and he is learning to chase after a tennis ball. He likes to be outside and he is smart. You have to remember he is a 60 lb PUPPY so he has puppy behaviors and he is still growing. He will need training. Older kids only. Children must be 12 years of age or older due to jumping and mouthiness. Must be okay with him not going up and down more than a few stairs. Currently he will not do a full flight of stairs.