View all Dogs for Adoption

Jolene D201562

Maltese / Mixed (medium coat) / Female / Senior

Details about Jolene D201562

  • ID D201562
  • Available for Adoption
  • Dog
  • White with Gray or Silver
  • Coatlength: Medium
  • Activity Level: Low
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

More about Jolene D201562

  • Energy Level: Low
  • Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only

Name: Jolene
Age: 10 years
Gender: Female
Breed: Maltese mix
Weight: 8 lbs
Dog friendly: Yes
Cat friendly: Unknown
Kid friendly: Yes
House Trained: In progress
Crate Trained: In progress
Energy level: Low
History: From a shelter in Kentucky
Adoption Fee: $200

 

From the Foster: (Please see medical notes!)

This little Kentucky punkin could be the Bruiser to your Elle Woods.

Jolene “Jolie” loves to be carried around, beds several times bigger than she is, short walks, sun bathing, sleeping with her people.  Loves to be a lap dog if you put her there (she doesn’t jump on furniture due to her short stature).  She loves chews, which is surprising due to her limited amount of cute snaggle teeth (she had a dental in KY).

We are working on pottying and being comfortable in a containment system.   She has separation anxiety and this is being worked on.  No shared walls at this time.

 

Through the course of my care at Secondhand Hounds, it was discovered I have a liver shunt. This means my liver isn't functioning properly and I have some abnormal blood work values.  It can also cause me to drink lots of water and subsequently urinate more than usual (causing some accidents in the home).  I have likely had this condition since birth, but at my age it's not recommended to surgically repair the dysfunction. To help support my body and medically manage the liver shunt instead, I need to remain on a prescription low-protein diet for life and a medication called Lactulose. I do also have a mild collapsing trachea so I might cough from time to time, but shouldn't require any additional care unless it begins to affect my quality of life.