View all Dogs for Adoption

Safari D201430

Labrador Retriever (short coat) / Female / Adult

Details about Safari D201430

  • ID D201430
  • Available for Adoption
  • Dog
  • Yellow
  • Coatlength: Short
  • Activity Level: Moderate
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

More about Safari D201430

  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only

Name: Safari
Age: DOB Approx. 09/09/10
Gender: Female
Breed: Lab x
Weight: 53
Dog friendly: Yes
Cat friendly: Yes, dog savvy ones
Kid friendly: Yes
House Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Doesn't need to be
Energy level: Moderate
History: Pulled from an animal control  
Adoption Fee: $350

 

From the Foster:

Safari aka “Ruthie” is an absolute sweetheart who has never met a stranger. She is great with all people and dogs, and even tolerates our resident dog's shenanigans. (She currently lives with kids aged 9 to 17 and a young resident dog. She lived with younger children in her previous foster family.)  She loves to be in the middle of the family action, and her tail is always wagging. She loves her daily walks, is learning how to play with toys, enjoys a good stuffed Kong or bone, and loves to play in the yard - especially if there is snow! 
 
Safari is living with one resident dog and two cats right now. She immediately adjusted to our dog, but the cats have taken some work - she really, really wants to play with them. She has calmed down over time and they aren't quite as exciting anymore, but she will probably always be interested in trying to play with or chase cats. 
 
We have not used a kennel with her and she doesn't seem to need one – no chewing or counter surfing for this gal. However, she is so easy going that if you wanted to kennel her, I think it would be very easy to do. 
 
She will bolt if a door is left open, and has easily jumped a 4 foot fence, and she can move faster than you would think. With this history, a 6+ foot fenced yard or a home where doors are carefully monitored would be ideal for her. Her desire to bolt out the door has lessened the longer she has been with us, and I do think this is something that can be fixed with time and training. 
 

FROM OUR VETS:

As expected for a senior gal, I have some joint disease in my shoulders and hips. I might need NSAID pain management in the future, but for now am on a lifelong high quality joint supplement. I have a few lumps and bumps including some mammary masses that may or may not be removed. I have some cloudy eyes diagnosed as "nuclear sclerosis" - there is no change to my vision and is simply a normal change due to aging. I will have a dental cleaning with extractions as necessary in early 2021 if my blood work continues to look good. 

 

Most importantly, I had a right side thyroidectomy (removal) in November 2020 due to a thyroid carcinoma located. There is a high chance of metastases so I will need to have an exam with a veterinarian and repeat chest x-rays every 3 months, to monitor for changes and the possibility of cancer spreading locally or to my lungs/lymph nodes.